Our galleries are being installed. You may still see Studio M: Artwork of the Boys and Girls Club and the Immel Circus. Join us Saturday, October 4 from 7:00-9:00pm for three floors of new exhibits!
Read more

Brown Bag Lecture Series

All Brown Bag Lunch presentations are FREE. Join us over the lunch hour Noon-1:00pm for these programs.

Sponsored by Bates Printing and the Dingler Family in memory of Milton and Evelyn Dingler

Upcoming Brown Bag Lunches: 2014

Tuesday, June 24, 2014
"Julia Grant, First Lady 1869-1877"
presented by Sally Whiston, living history presenter

Tuesday, July 22, 2014
"Water Adventures in the Nimishillen Creek Watershed, Stark County, Ohio"
presented by Dr. Robert Hamilton
 
Tuesday, August 26, 2014
"Exploring the Jackson Bog State Nature Preserve"
presented by Michael Witt
 
Tuesday, September 23, 2014
"A Century of the Massillon High School Football Band"
presented by Robert Wenzel, voice of the Tiger Swing Band
 
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
"Massillon and the War to End All Wars"
presented by Mandy Altimus Pond, Archivist, Massillon Museum

 

 

About the Brown Bag Lunch Series

Bring a sack lunch or enjoy soup and sandwiches provided by a guest cafe. The program will begin promptly at 12:10 p.m. and conclude about 12:50 p.m. to accommodate guests who attend during the lunch hour.

Bates Printing sponsors the Brown Bag Lunch Series, which is in its eleventh year. It continues on the fourth Tuesday of each month, January through October.

The event, which is held in the Museum lobby, is free and open to the public; no reservations are required, but seats fill early. The Massillon Museum is located at 121 Lincoln Way East in downtown Massillon. For more information, call the Massillon Museum at 330-833-4061.

Media Contacts:
Margy Vogt, Museum Public Relations & Lunch Series Chair - (click here to email Margy)

 

Previous Brown Bag Lunches 2014

Tuesday, January 28, 2014
Technology and the Civil War
presented by Chris Craft • MassMu Special Projects Coordinator, Civil War historian, actor

Tuesday, February 25, 2014
Negro Baseball Leagues
presented by David Lundquist, Ed Grier, Leslie Heaphy, David Schultz, and Richard Kettler • baseball historians

Tuesday, March 25, 2014
The Big Read: Fahrenheit 451 and Ray Bradbury
presented by Mark Dawidziak • author, actor, Plain Dealer TV critic, KSU professor

Tuesday, April 22, 2014
Books Under Fire: The Ongoing Battle for the Right to Read 
presented by Sherie Brown • director, Massillon Public Library

Tuesday, May 27, 2014
Surviving the Holocaust as a Child
presented by Barbara Turkeltaub • Holocaust survivor

 


Previous Brown Bag Lunches 2013

Tuesday, January 22
Civil War Movies
presented by Chris Craft and Mandy Pond, Museum staff members, actors, and film aficionados


Tuesday, February 26
CHARISMA: Contributions of Historic African-Americans
Whose Roots and Influence are of Significance to the Massillon Area
presented by Marva Dodson, Local Historian

Tuesday, March 26
Massillon's 1913 Flood
presented by Rudy Turkal, Local historian and collector

Tuesday, April 23
White Trash, The Genteel Classes, and To Kill a Mockingbird
presented by Will Cooley, Professor of History, Walsh University

Tuesday, May 28
Going to Work: Federal Projects and the Great Depression
presented by Todd Clark, Stark Parks History Programmer and Naturalist

Tuesday, June 25, 2013
The Life of a Circus Clown
Dale Smith • Herky the Clown!
sponsored in part by Meadow Wind Health Care Center

Tuesday, July 23, 2013
Mary Owens Jenkins: Union Army Heroine?
Joe Herrick • Local Historian

Tuesday, August 27, 2013
The Lincoln Highway
Michel Hocker • Director, Ohio Lincoln Highway Historic Byway

Tuesday, September 24, 2013
Ohio's Lake Erie Wineries
Claudia Taller • Author and Ohio Wine Expert

Tuesday, October 29, 2013
The Vampire Talk
Mark Dawidziak • Author and Actor